Landlords’ Guide to Rental Laws in Nevada


Becoming a landlord in Nevada comes with numerous responsibilities, including the obligation to adhere to the state’s rental laws. These laws are designed to protect both landlords and tenants and ensure a smooth and fair rental process. To help you navigate this process, this comprehensive guide covers essential aspects of Nevada’s rental laws, with a focus on required disclosures, rent and fees, security deposits, and evictions.


If the landlord must enter the property and has the opportunity to provide advanced notice, they must give 24 hours’ worth of notice. They can only enter the property at reasonable times (9am-5pm, regular business hours) unless they have express consent to notice less than 24 hours, or entry during non-business hours. Landlords can enter the unit for inspections, repairs, alterations, improvements, service providing, or showings.

In the case of an emergency, landlord entry without notice is permitted. 


Nevada eviction laws have various guidelines for different types of evictions.

If your tenant has unpaid rent, they have four days to pay or quit in a periodic tenancy. For all other tenancies, tenants have seven days to pay or quit.

For lease violations outside of the nonpayment of rent, landlords can provide the tenant five days to cure or quit.

In the case of illegal drug activity at the property, the tenant has three days to quit, and the landlord does not have to extend the opportunity for the tenant to remedy the issue.

Immediate notice to quit is appropriate for severe lease violations.

Required Disclosures

There are numerous disclosures required by Nevada law, and as a landlord it is crucial that you provide your tenants with the following information.

Rental laws in Nevada necessitate that landlords clearly outline all required fees and deposits in the written rental agreement, specifying their purposes and the conditions for refund, if applicable. In the rental agreement, landlords should also include a signed record of the inventory and condition of the premises. Further, each rental agreement must incorporate a summary of NRS § 202.470, outlining the penalties for maintaining or permitting public nuisances. In essence, individuals guilty of a public nuisance are subject to misdemeanor charges. Rental agreements must describe the tenant’s right to display the U.S. flag, as established by NRS § 118A.325.

At the start of the tenancy, landlords must also provide tenants with a free copy of the written rental agreement. Upon request, additional copies should be provided within a reasonable time and at a reasonable cost.

Nevada landlords must provide a signed, written receipt for the security deposit or surety bond upon request. Tenants can also request receipts for other payments, deposits, or fees, including rent.

If the property in question is subject to foreclosure proceedings, landlords must disclose this information in writing to prospective tenants.

Landlords in Nevada must disclose tenant obligations and procedures for reporting nuisances or building, safety, or health code violations to the appropriate authorities.

Rent and Fees

Nevada rent laws are there to ensure that when incurring fees and other types of payments on your tenants, you are doing so in a fair and equitable way. 

Rental application fees are not regulated in Nevada.

While there’s no statewide rent control, landlords in Nevada must provide at least 60 days’ written notice (or 30 days for periodic tenancies of less than one month) before increasing rent.

Late fees are typically capped at 5% of the monthly rent, and tenants often have a 3-day grace period for rent payment.

Landlords can charge a maximum fee of $25 for bounced checks.

Tenants can withhold rent if landlords fail to maintain habitable conditions or address issues within 14 days. Immediate withholding is allowed if a governmental agency has already issued a notice to the landlord. If repair costs are under $100 or one month’s rent (whichever is greater), tenants may arrange for repairs and deduct the cost from the rent. Prior notice and an itemized statement are required.

Security Deposits

The maximum security deposit is typically three months’ rent, and landlords must return security deposits within 30 days.

Landlords are not obligated to pay interest on security deposits and are not required to maintain security deposits in a separate bank account.

Landlords may withhold funds from the security deposit for unpaid rent, repairs beyond normal wear and tear, and cleaning costs. However, an itemized accounting of withholdings must be provided.


Landlord tenant laws in Nevada are designed to protect the interests of both landlords and tenants. Understanding and complying with these laws is essential for a successful landlord-tenant relationship. Be sure to stay informed about any updates or changes in the state’s rental regulations, as they may impact your responsibilities as a landlord.

Leave a comment